NightB4 in Glasgow

Home | Cities | Members | Groups | Forums | Photos | Site | Help | Login

City Home | Cinemas | Pubs | Clubs | Maps | Ratings | Forum


Buff Club map

Contact Details

The Buff Bath Lane
142 Bath Lane
Glasgow

www.thebuffclub.com

Rate this club



This club is currently rated by readers as Good

Recent Reader Reviews

Savoy by Out in Glasgow 12/07
Jumpin Jaks by Out in Glasgow 11/07
Polo Lounge by Mario77 11/03
Garage by jonesy 09/09
Bamboo by AmberS17 25/07
Loft by bones-jones 06/06
Moon by michael morrison 14/12
Garage by alisonL 28/10
Garage by halo 28/10
Boho by The Sopranos 20/10

Members's Choice

91 members chose this venue as one of their favourites.

* t1nk3rb3ll *, *gun in my garter*, *starlight*, 1967bhoy, alcoholic, AldoGadgi, Andi, andyt888, babycakes, big d, bigboss, Blonde Bitch, boozy-minx, cat_cameron, Christopher Conway, cider_nut3000, Clarkster, closingdownsale, Clubbin Cutie, Crazy Tinkerbell, Cygnus, david0024, Davie Boy, delboy, diiirty5283, Disco Dave Dance Commander, Earlyhourspromotions, farrell, french_martini, Gigi80, glasgowtownkid, Gruffalo27, Harry71, hey_ho, hossydossy, house rules, Ice Man, insideye, JaneC, japonjenny, Jonathan, king kev, laluci, laura-lu, lil_ho, Linds, littleB, littlemisshula, lornz, Maraj, Mart0n, mav@trash, mavis79, melody, micheloola, mic_smi86, missyB, missydd, modjo2, Moniker, murphy, Nickolicious, nocturnal, PJB, princess missy, Quirky, rusty rogue, salsal, Sassperilla, Scoota, sexypc, Shona Lot, slinky, Spade, starfish, steviem, Suthy, Swineypuhlooza, tanithrea, tavis, The Informer, The Master, tigerlily, veremos, victorious, Webs, weeandy, whitelmi, Woodypups, xdiscox, zaz

DVD
cover cover
Buy now Buy now
Spider-Man 2 Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban
This Club

Club Page
Map

Only a selection of venues in this city may be shown. Members can customise this list.

More Information
Customise list
See all venues

Cinemas

RCinema has a main review
rCinema has reader reviews
MCinema is on the map

Cineworld (was UGC)Mr
Cineworld Parkhead (was UGC)r
Glasgow Film TheatreMr
GrosvenorMr
Odeon (The Quay)r
Showcase Eastr
Showcase Paisleyr

...and another 1 cinemas.
Click here to see all cinemas.


Pubs

RPub has a main review
rPub has reader reviews
MPub is on the map

Piano BarMr
Madness Theatre of FunMr
Nico'sMr
Solid Rock Café (CC)Mr
LabMr
BunkerMRr
Brunswick CellarsMr
Waxy O'ConnersMr
BasicMr
Butterfly and the PigMr
Uisge BeathaMr
Jinty McGuinty'sMRr
BabushkaMr
Snaffle BitMr
Bon AccordMRr
McPhabb'sMr
Babbity BowsterMr
BlackfriarsMr
State BarMr
UniversalMr

...and another 149 pubs.
Click here to see all pubs.


Other Clubs

RClub has a main review
rClub has reader reviews
MClub is on the map

Renfrew FerryMr
BlanketMRr
ArchesMRr
Buff ClubMr
ABCMr
Soundhausr
Cellr
SilkMr
RiversideMr
BluuMr
500 ClubMr
CubeMRr
TunnelMRr
CathouseMRr
CommonMRr
Polo LoungeMRr
ArtaMRr
StudioMRr
Sub ClubMr
Seventh HeavenMr

...and another 47 clubs.
Click here to see all clubs.


Buff Club

Displaying reviews 1-10 out of 35
Page : Next
Cygnus
Sun 16th Apr 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes No

I went once and I had a cracking time in there. It is a wee club, with a (relative) small dance area, but plenty of seats, so you can sit down and have a rest, when you feel you have had enough of the dancing. The music is brilliant and out of the mainstream. The crowd is a bit more mature and you'll spend some hassle free time there. Wouldn't go every week there, but it is definetly worth a visit.

Reply to this review
scarygurrl
Sat 6th Aug 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Well, I know I'm biased, but I do genuinely love this club. I love the wallpaper, and I'm so glad they fixed the bits that had peeled off. I love the random music, and the bongo drums. I love the crazy dancers. But most of all, I love the friendly atmosphere, and the fact I can wear whatever I want on a night out and not feel out of place.

Reply to this review
BMW
Fri 22nd Jul 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Yeah must say top club, first impression were what is this it??? When i saw the downstairs bar and small dancefloor, but ever so glad when we went upstairs put the jackets in and saw the place was absolutely chokkers with people just having a good time. Some people have said it's posey and pretentious?? Go to Tiger Tiger then come back and compare.

Reply to this review
Gemgems
Thu 23rd Jun 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Always have a good laugh at the buff club, dont think i would want to go everyweek but its good for a change!

Reply to this review
luckster
Thu 31st Mar 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

The Buff is THE best club in town - everything about it - the door staff, the bar staff and of course the music!! I'm glad to see that the change of owner/management hasn't changed this amazing place. I know there's been a bit of confusion with the old management trying their own night elsewhere with the buff name - but note you guys - it aint the same. The Buff lives on in Bath Lane!

Reply to this review
Betty Bull
Sun 20th Mar 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Buff Club is THE coolest club in town. There is no where else like it for one reason, places like cube and the tunnel etc are just manufactured clubs no real atmosphere or originality. The buff club is the place to be, even the stars think so e.g. the streets, franz ferdinand, mylo and many more

Reply to this review
nocturnal
Mon 21st Feb 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

If this club is anything it is different, but in the best sense of the word. The ecentric decor adds to the appeal of the place and all who frequent the Buff love it (including Gary Lightbody from Snow Patrol and Mylo). So, those who have bad words to say about this little gem can eat them as the Buff is high up on the list of cool clubs in Glasgow.

Reply to this review
Rich Uncle Skeleton
Thu 17th Feb 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Best club in Glasgow, hands down. My review had to be at least ten words long, and the first sentence was all I had to say. Great music too.

Reply to this review
Whodaman
Sun 7th Nov 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes No

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. However, to all those plebs who don't like the Buff, they just prove that taste is acquired and cannot be forced on the individual. At first sight, the Buff Club isn't what anyone would expect from a Glasgow club and to be honest it almost reminds me of my grandmothers living room with velour curtains and a vintage jukebox (although I only wish my grandmother had one of those!) and incites memories of the 70's straight away. The music is what carries this place off, if you have a love for all things soul & funk, bring your dancing shoes because you're in for a treat. The staff are friendly, you get your drinks within a tenth of the time compared to other bars in Glasgow and at the end of the night, your left with a pleasant feeling of eclectic nostalgia. Pure class and for any age, I'm 21 and I could see myself still enjoying a night out in ten years time at the Buff Club.

Reply to this review | Read replies
Mart0n
Fri 15th Oct 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes No

The Buff Club is my favourite club in Glasgow. They play amazing funky tunes on Fridays and Saturdays, ranging from songs like "What a Man" and "My Sweet Lord" to "Sex Machine" and "Lady Marmalade". The decor is fantastic - like Bath Lane has its very own time capsule from the 70's. There are more older people than younger, but that can only be a good sign; Surely the older you become, the more clubs you've sampled, and since most older people go there, we can assume that The Buff is where the best music's at!
To whoever says that the club is "boring" was perhaps looking for brand-new pop music or 90's R'n'B (ie not old-style R'n'B), rather than music by artists they've probably never of. What is The Buff? The Buff is classic jazz, funk and soul from a bygone era, played in the environment in which it was intended to be heard.

Reply to this review | Read replies
  Next
Why not post your own opinion about this club?

New Music Releases
Compilations

Kiss Hitlist Summer 2003
Various Artists


In the House Vol 3
Various Artists, mixed by Junior Jack & Kid Creme

Albums

Are You All Ready
Tony De Vit


21st Century Dub
Tony Thomas

Singles

Destiny
N Trance


Tour De France 03
Kraftwerk


Business
Eminem


Girl
Pepe Deluxe

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Members' Area | Reviewers' Guide | Privacy Policy | Member Agreement

Copyright © 2000-2014 NightB4. All Rights Reserved.
Views expressed are those of the author and not necessarily of NightB4.
NightB4 is not affiliated with the venues mentioned on this site.